Free professional paper writing assistance from expert writers


People are often confused by what a vegan is they tend to get the wrong idea in some cases. Many wonder if vegans are people who do not eat meat and wonder what they eat if they don’t eat animal products. A vegan is a type of vegetarian. Many people are not aware you can be a vegetarian and still eat some type of animal product. In this case, a vegan may not eat foods with ingredients that come from animals. This means they may not eat dairy, eggs, and many meat products. Some sugar products and wine may be other items they exclude from their diet if they are made with an animal-related ingredient.

Since vegans are known for having a limited diet, people wonder what in the world do they eat and how can this be healthy? Some people decide to become a vegan on their own. They may do research on what they eat and how to make changes to adapt to that lifestyle. A vegan diet can vary depending on what foods you like to eat. There are people that may find the change difficult in the beginning since they have to eliminate a number of foods they were used to eating.

There are vegan versions of many foods such as cheese, hot dogs and ice cream. But a vegan diet typically includes fruits, vegetables, grains and beans. A person may be able to start the diet easily than others. Some decide to become a vegetarian first and then determine which foods to slowly omit from their diet. Usually, dairy items are the first to eliminate. From here some find it easier to substitute certain foods to ensure their nutrition needs are met and they get satisfied when they eat.

For the most part people can do it anyway they want. Yet, some experts suggest people discuss the option with their doctor or dietitian to ensure they get essential nutrition their body needs. People tend to debate on which foods are appropriate for vegans. Being a vegan is often seen as someone who has a strict diet. There are vegans that find it difficult to understand what they should eat. Others remain cautious as they want to remain on a specific diet. So if they are in doubt they may omit the food item in question. There are vegans that go beyond omitting animal products from their diets. They may avoid using items made from or tested on animals such as wool or leather.